Dale W. Jorgenson

Dale W. Jorgenson

Samuel W. Morris University Professor, Department of Economics, Harvard University
Dale Jorgenson

Dale W. Jorgenson received his B.A. in Economics from Reed College in 1955 and his PhD in Economics from Harvard in 1959. He joined the Harvard faculty in 1969, where he is currently Samuel W. Morris University Professor. Professor Jorgenson has conducted groundbreaking research on information technology and economic growth, energy and the environment, tax policy and investment behavior, and applied econometrics. He is the author of 300 articles in economics and the author or editor of thirty-seven books. Professor Jorgenson is a member of the American Philosophical Society, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He was elected to Fellowship in the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1982), the American Statistical Association (1965), and the Econometric Society (1964). In 1971 he received the prestigious John Bates Clark Medal of the American Economic Association. He has served as President of the American Economic Association (2000) and was named a Distinguished Fellow of the Association in 2001. He was a Founding Member of the Board on Science, Technology, and Economic Policy of the National Research Council (1991) and served as Chairman of the Board from 1998 to 2006. He also served as Chairman of Section 54, Economic Sciences, of the National Academy of Sciences from 2000 to 2003 and President of the Econometric Society (1987).


Contact Information

Littauer Center 122, 1805 Cambridge St., Cambridge, MA
p: 617-495-4661

Research Interests