关于哈佛大学中国项目

哈佛大学中国能源经济环境项目成立于1993年,是一个跨学科综合研究项目,总部位于哈佛大学John A. Paulson工程与应用科学学院。该项目就中国的经济、能源、大气环境(包括空气污染和温室气体)以及环境健康展开高水平研究,相关研究成果发表于经过同业评审的权威学术期刊。项目在哈佛大学内外展开广泛合作,主要有两种形式:1) 在学校内部开展跨学科跨学院的科研交叉合作,2) 将根植于哈佛大学的科研力量同中国大学合作伙伴的研究成果进行整合。
 
自立项以来,哈佛大学中国项目已在多个学科领域建立了坚实的研究实力,包括:大气传输与大气化学建模;与清华大学在北京近郊联合运营大气监测站进行大气监测;自下而上的空气污染物和温室气体排放分析;可再生能源与低碳电力资源及其并网潜力的评估;中国经济与能源使用的一般均衡模型的建模与分析;空气污染对健康影响的建模与健康风险的评估;城市交通、土地使用以及环境的相关分析;对国家温室气体与空气污染物减排政策的经济与环境成本和效益的综合评估。

项目的科研团队目前包含八位来自哈佛大学四大学院的教授和十五位中国大学合作教授,学科背景涵盖了自然科学、应用科学、健康科学、经济学、法律、公共政策,以及其他各学科领域。

项目团队定期举办学术研讨会,并面向哈佛全校举办公开讲座,同时还在美国和中国两地召开大型学术研讨会。

美国艺术与科学学院院士、Gilbert Butler荣誉环境学教授 Michael McElroy, 担任哈佛中国项目的主席;倪世祺(Chris Nielsen)先生为项目执行总监;前美国经济学会主席、Samuel W. Morris荣誉教授Dale W. Jorgenson,领衔本项目经济研究的主要部分。

鸣谢

哈佛大学中国项目获得了哈佛全球研究基金 (Harvard Global Institute)首届研究基金的赞助,该项基金主要致力于支持哈佛大学中国项目“中国 2030 年/2050年”这一研究课题,我们对此深表荣幸与谢意。哈佛环球学院研究基金既支持本项目下新的研究课题的开展,也满足进一步扩展现有课题研究的需求。在支持 学术交流、教学与公共活动的同时,也特别着眼于同中国研究伙伴的合作。

哈佛大学中国项目同时亦十分感谢来自哈佛大学John A. Paulson工程与应用科学学院的大力支持——不仅为我们提供了办公场地和相关服务,更为项目带来了一个充满创新精神的学术社区环境,在哈佛校园乃至全世界范围内为我们架起了科学工程与其他各学术领域交流的桥梁。

哈佛大学中国项目其他主要赞助方包括:能源基金会(中国)、美国国家科学基金会(基金ATM-1019134和ATM-0635548)、Henry Luce基金会、沃尔沃集团研究基金会、福特汽车公司基金会、Bedminster基金会、Dunwalke信托基金、和 Kernan兄弟奖学金;支持本项目启动的两大赞助机构为:V. Kann Rasmussen基金会和美国能源部(DE-FG02-95ER62133号拨款).

其他项目赞助方还包括:哈佛气候变化解决方案基金、Ash中心Hui基金“生成伟大创意”项目、郭梁潔芹女士、中国三峡电力公司、哈佛大学Weatherhead国际事务中心、哈佛大学经济系张茵基金、哈佛大学中国基金、Smeltzer基金、哈佛大学亚洲中心、哈佛大学环境中心、Thornton基金会、Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd., 美国国家环境保护局、国家全球环境变化学院、太平洋盆地研究中心、中国环境与发展国际合作委员会,以及数家不具名的基金会。

哈佛气候变化专家关注中国

哈佛大学中国项目获得哈佛环球学院的首笔注资375万美元。
See also: Multimedia

 

哈佛大学内外跨学院、跨学校合作

来自哈佛大学五大学院的教授和研究人员积极开展科研合作:

  • 哈佛大学John A. Paulson工程与应用科学学院;
  • 哈佛大学文理学院(主要来自于经济系和地球与行星科学系);
  • 哈佛大学T. H. Chan公共卫生学院(主要来自于环境健康系和健康政策与管理系);
  • 哈佛大学肯尼迪政府学院;以及
  • 哈佛大学设计研究学院。

哈佛大学中国项目现与以下合作方积极开展科研合作:

  • 清华大学环境学院;
  • 清华大学科学院地球系统科学中心;
  • 清华大学经济管理学院;
  • 清华大学工程学院电机工程系;
  • 南京大学环境学院;
  • 北京大学政府学院当代中国研究中心;
  • 北京大学物理学院大气与海洋科学系;
  • 华中科技大学电机工程系;
  • 中国气象局国家气候中心;
  • 国家电网研究院;以及
  • 中国科学院地理科学与资源研究所。

其他中国合作机构包括:香港理工大学土木及环境工程学系、香港中文大学地理与资源管理学系、北京医科大学(现为北京大学医学部)。

哈佛大学中国项目通过邀请各领域学者来哈佛访学并与哈佛的研究人员共事的形式,来鼓励促进哈佛大学同外校的合作。我们偕同哈佛大学法学院东亚法律研究项目,已经先后接待了来自武汉大学法学院、厦门大学法学院、上海交通大学法学院、清华大学法学院和中国政法大学环境法领域的研究人员来哈佛大学访学交流。我们项目也单独接待了一大批来自中国人民大学环境与自然资源学院、中国科学院政策管理研究所、中央财经大学、国家统计局和日本庆应大学的环境经济学和能源经济学领域的学者来哈佛大学访学交流。

除了同中国各大高校的合作以外,哈佛大学中国项目还同中国主管能源与环境的现任部长级官员保持紧密联系。我们已与现中华人民共和国环境保护部创始官员曲格平先生,其继任者、后成为中国国家发展与改革委员会副主席兼中国气候变化问题特使的解振华先生建立了长期联系。我们以细致严谨、多维立体的科研作风对气候变化的环境下全球发展和环境保护所面临的挑战进行深入研究,严谨务实的科研作风获得了中国高层领导人的认同,因而同中国政府建立起了坚实的合作纽带。

研究活动

最早始于发表于Energizing China: Reconciling Environmental Protection and Economic Growth (McElroy, Nielsen, and Lydon 1998, HUCE/Harvard University Press)一书中的一片基础评论,哈佛大学中国项目自此逐渐展开一系列关于影响中国大气环境多种因素的研究。这些研究不仅包含小型的单人研究,也包含了横跨中美两国多达十几人参与、需要进行大量数据搜集工作的多项目跨学科扩展研究。

点击此处了解更多哈佛大学中国项目当前五大研究领域的详情。

项目研究成果或刊载于学术期刊、或以专著和论文的形式发表,同时也会在哈佛大学、中国及世界各地的研讨会、学术会议和政策通气会上公开发表。研讨会通常在哈佛大学John A. Paulson工程与应用科学学院举行,并对公众开放。我们每年也会组织公开讲座和学术会议。

浏览近期出版文献

浏览研讨会与活动日程

订阅我们的电子邮件,获取项目活动通知、最新科研进展及一年两期的项目新闻通讯。

 

订阅

About the Harvard-China Project

Founded in 1993, the interdisciplinary Harvard-China Project, based in the Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, conducts peer-reviewed research on China’s economy, energy, atmospheric environment (both air pollution and greenhouse gases), and environmental health. The Project pursues two collaborative mandates: crossing disciplines and schools at Harvard and integrating Harvard-based research efforts with work by affiliates at Chinese universities.

It has built up research capacities in a range of fields: atmospheric transport and chemistry modeling; atmospheric measurement at a station near Beijing operated jointly with Tsinghua University; bottom-up assessment of air pollution and GHG emissions; investigation of renewable and low-carbon electric power potentials, including grid integration; general equilibrium modeling of China’s economy and energy use; modeling health impacts of pollution exposures and valuation of health risk; analyses of urban transport, land use, and environment; and integrated assessments of the economic and environmental costs and benefits of national policies to control emissions of air pollutants and greenhouse gases. 

The Project currently involves eight active faculty members from four Harvard schools and around fifteen collaborating professors in China, from disciplines ranging across natural, applied, and health sciences, economics, law, public policy, and other fields. 

The Project hosts regular research seminars and occasional university-wide public lectures, as well as research symposia at Harvard and in China. 

Michael McElroy, Gilbert Butler Professor of Environmental Studies, is the Chair of the China Project, while Chris Nielsen serves as the Executive Director. Dale W. Jorgenson, Samuel W. Morris University Professor, leads the major economics component of the Project.

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS 

The Harvard-China Project is the proud and appreciative recipient of the first anchor grant from the Harvard Global Institute under the Office of President Drew Faust, providing major funding for pursuit of the Project's "China 2030/2050" research theme (see video below). The HGI award supports new and expanded studies, scholarly exchanges, educational activities, and public events across the Project's fields of scholarship, emphasizing collaborative work with partners on the ground in China. 

The Harvard-China Project also appreciates the core support of the Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, which provides it with a physical home, related services, and an innovation-driven community that embraces bridging from sciences and engineering to all other fields of scholarly inquiry, across Harvard and around the world. 

Other major funders of the Harvard-China Project have included the Energy Foundation China, the National Science Foundation (grants ATM-1019134 and ATM-0635548), the Henry Luce Foundation, the Volvo Research Foundations, the Ford Motor Company Foundation, the Bedminster Foundation, the Dunwalke Trust, and the Kernan Brothers Fellowship, as well as the two major funders that supported the launch of the China Project: the V. Kann Rasmussen Foundation and the U.S. Department of Energy (grant DE-FG02-95ER62133). 

Additional funders have included the Harvard Climate Change Solutions Fund, Ash Center Hui Fund for Generating Powerful Ideas, Ingrid Kuok, the China Three Gorges Power Company, the Harvard Weatherhead Center for International Affairs, Cheung Yan Fund of the Harvard Department of Economics, the Harvard China Fund, the Smeltzer Fund, the Harvard Asia Center, the Harvard University Center for the Environment, the Thornton Foundation, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd., the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the National Institute for Global Environmental Change, the Pacific Basin Research Center, the China Council for International Cooperation on Environment and Development, and several anonymous foundations.

Harvard Climate Change Experts Focus on China

The China Project received the first $3.75 million grant from the new Harvard Global Institute.
See also: Multimedia

Show More

 

Collaborations across Harvard University

FACULTY AND RESEARCHERS FROM FOUR HARVARD SCHOOLS ARE CURRENTLY ACTIVE:

  • Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences;
  • Faculty of Arts and Sciences (specifically, the Department of Economics and the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences);
  • Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health (specifically, the Department of Environmental Health and Department of Health Policy and Management); and
  • Harvard Kennedy School of Government.

THE CHINA PROJECT CURRENTLY HAS ACTIVE COLLABORATIONS WITH:

  • Tsinghua University, School of Environment;
  • Tsinghua University, School of Science, Center for Earth System Science;
  • Tsinghua University, School of Economics and Management;
  • Tsinghua University, School of Engineering, Department of Electrical Engineering;
  • Nanjing University, School of the Environment; 
  • Peking University, School of Government, Research Center for Contemporary China;
  • Peking University, School of Physics, Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences;
  • Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Department of Electrical Engineering;
  • Chinese Meteorological Administration, National Climate Center;
  • State Grid Research Institute; and
  • Chinese Academy of Sciences, Institute of Geographical Sciences and Natural Resources Research.

Some other Chinese institutes that have completed studies with us include Hong Kong Polytechnic University Department of Civil and Structural Engineering; Chinese University of Hong Kong, Department of Geography and Resource Management; and Beijing Medical University (now Peking University Health Science Center).

The China Project encourages partnerships with other universities by inviting scholars from diverse fields to visit the Project and work together with researchers here. We have hosted a series of researchers in environmental law (jointly with the Harvard Law School East Asian Legal Studies Program), from Wuhan University Law School, Xiamen University Law School, Shanghai Jiaotong University Law School, Tsinghua University Law School, and the University of Politics and Law. We have also hosted a series of scholars in environmental economics and/or energy economics from Renmin University School of Environment and Natural Resources, Chinese Academy of Sciences Institute for Policy and Management, Central University of Finance and Economics, National Bureau of Statistics, and Keio University in Japan.

In addition to our collaborations with universities in China, the Project maintains active ties to current minister-level officials with responsibilities on energy and environment. We have established an enduring relationship with QU Geping, founding administrator of what is now the Ministry of Environment, and XIE Zhenhua, who succeeded Qu and later became Vice Chairman of the National Development and Reform Commission and China’s Special Envoy on Climate Change. We use our rigorous, multi-dimensional research to engage with top Chinese leaders on the challenges of global development and environmental protection in a changing climate.

OUR RESEARCH ACTIVITIES AND EVENTS

Initiated with a preliminary, stage-setting review published in the book Energizing China: Reconciling Environmental Protection and Economic Growth (McElroy, Nielsen, and Lydon 1998, HUCE/Harvard University Press), the Project has since consisted of an evolving series of studies on the many dimensions influencing atmospheric environment in China. These have ranged from small, single-researcher studies to expansive, multi-part projects that involve up to a dozen researchers working across disciplines and the U.S. and China, and include large data collection efforts in the field.

Read more about our five current research areas.

Research findings are reported in scholarly journals, books, and dissertations. They are also presented in seminars, research conferences and workshops, and policy briefings held at Harvard, in China, and elsewhere. Engineering and Applied Sciences and open to the public. We also organize public lectures and research conferences every year.

See our recent publications.

Engineering and Applied Sciences and open to the public. We also organize public lectures and research conferences every year.

Take a look at our seminars and events calendar.