专著一:《净化空气》

由哈佛大学和清华大学联合研究团队主导的多元测评,整合了中国各行业大气污染对健康损害进行评估和比较的研究工作。基于这些评估,他们测评了绿色税收政策对空气污染物和温室气体排放、人体健康和经济的效果。评估结果和政策结论在本书《净化空气:中国空气污染对健康和经济的损害》Clearing the Air: The Health and Economic Damages of Air Pollution in China (Ho and Nielsen 2007, MIT Press) 中一并呈现。

clearing_the_air_book_cover_2

关于本书更多详情,请点击下方“显示更多”。也请点击下方“更多出版文献”查看哈佛大学中国项目赞助的所有该领域的研究出版文献。

显示更多

本书研究计划由哈佛大学中国项目的何文胜博士和Chris P. NIELSEN领衔,哈佛大学经济系Dale W. JORGENSON教授担任顾问。清华大学部分由清华大学环境学院的郝吉明教授领衔。其他作出重要贡献的哈佛大学教授包括来自于哈佛T.H.Chan公共卫生学院的Jonathan I. LEVY教授和James K. HAMMITT教授。

以下主要政策结论之后还介绍了三大研究区块,并对中国空气污染带来的总体损失作了估计(如早逝和健康损害占国内生产总值的比例)。

主要政策结论

《净化空气》一书整合的模拟分析主要表明了:

  • 中国的绿色税收政策不仅能减少碳排放从而降低空气污染对人体健康的损害,而且如果税收收入能得以合理使用,还能有助于维持、甚至促进中国经济的增长。实行绿色税收政策的确会产生一定的成本,但总体来说以上无论哪种情况,其带来的收益都是大于成本的。

这一鼓舞人心的研究结果表明,如果中国想要找到一个全国性的综合治理策略来控制国内的空气污染和碳排放的话,政府就应当着重考虑使用税收政策,并对其有效性作进一步的评估。书中对这一结论及其他政策结论作了深入探讨。

经济、排放及政策

哈佛大学中国项目中持续最久的研究活动——经济研究部分,JORGENSON教授、何博士和他们的同仁们开发、升级并最终精炼出一个涵盖34个行业区块的动态模型来评估中国经济的增长、能源使用以及排放趋势。请访问“经济与政策”页面了解该模型详情。

在《净化空气》一书中,这一经济模型整合了环境和健康因素的研究结果——在之后两章节中将会详细介绍——然后细分行业,来评估大气污染物对人体健康和经济的损害程度(Ho and Jorgenson 2007a)。之后,研究团队一方面用这些评估结果分析利用市场机制来进行调节的环境政策对经济增长、生产结构和能源利用的效果,另一方面用这些评估结果来分析这类环境政策对控制污染物排放和降低污染对人体健康损害的效果(Ho and Jorgenson 2007b)。此类政策一般称为“绿色税收”(或者“庇古税”),即根据燃料或工业产量所造成的污染危害程度对排污者征稅。哈佛大学中国项目经济研究搭建的全国性研究框架使得研究团队不仅能够评估此类政策对受其直接影响的经济活动的效果,也能评估此类政策对经济因价格波动而受到间接影响时的效果。本文最后一节概述了综合模型分析的政策影响。

从排放到暴露

两个团队对因焚烧矿物燃料而产生的微粒物质和二氧化硫在大气中的扩散以及人体在这些微粒物质和二氧化硫中的暴露量进行建模(Levy and Greco 2007)。团队使用了“摄入量”方法——一种因数据样本不足而使用的方法,数据样本不足在欠发达国家很常见。一队研究人员由Jonathan LEVY教授和Zhou Ying教授(哈佛大学公共卫生学院)领衔,使用atmospheric "puff"模型估计来自于电力行业的一次和二次污染物的摄入量(Zhou et al. 2007)

另一队研究人员则由清华大学的郝吉明、刘炳江和王书肖(当时的环境科学与工程系)领衔。他们分别向中国的五个城市派出调研人员,收集化工、钢铁、水泥和交通四大主要污染排放行业的相关数据。刘炳江教授还建立了一个囊括全中国电厂的全国性数据库(电力是中国第五大污染排放行业) 。

为了进一步分析所收集的数据,清华大学的学者们常驻哈佛大学中国项目进行研究,包括王书肖(现为清华大学教授)和刘炳江(现为中华人民共和国环境保护部空气污染控制司司长)都曾任哈佛大学中国项目的博士后研究员。他们用从五大重污染行业各种污染物排放源收集到的数据,对污染物的大气扩散和人体暴露的情况进行建模(Wang et al. 2007; Liu and Hao 2007);再通过对建模所得的摄入量进行回归分析(基于Levy et al. 2002的方法)得出行业摄入量,然后将该结果应用于经济模型来估计出由此造成的对人体健康的损害。

评估对健康的影响

James K. HAMMITT教授和ZHOU Ying教授(哈佛大学公共卫生学院)进行了一项条件估值的调查研究,来评估在中国防止健康损害的经济价值(Zhou and Hammitt 2007)。在项目前联合主席徐希平(当时任职于哈佛大学公共卫生学院)和当地机构的推动下,研究人员在北京和安徽省的城市和农村地区进行了该条件估值研究。结合根据摄入量估计出来的暴露于污染的人口数以及文献的量效关系,这些评估结果(加上早期获得哈佛大学中国项目赞助的Wang and Mullahy 2006的研究中的评估结果)均用于经济模型中来将空气污染对人体健康造成的损害货币化。

对全国损失的估计:早逝率和健康损害占国内生产总值的比例

上述主要结论反映了《净化空气》一书主要政策相关目标,同时也反映了其科研目标:推进研究方法、促进学术出版,以建立和鼓励未来的研究工作。其实,该书着重强调了中国科研能力的发展状态,以及中国所有全国性环境评估背后固有的不确定性。其中包括我们自己和相关方面所做的工作,譬如世界银行和中国国家环保总局(SEPA, 现为国家环境保护部)几乎同时开发的污染损害模型框架。

对全国环境损害总量的估计,无论是从健康还是经济角度,都吸引了大众媒体的注意。但在参考这些损害估计时,最好牢记:这些估计本身就是不精确的,请谨慎使用它们来进行政策推论。《净化空气》一书的结论部分包括了对国家空气污染的估计,书中一直强调对这一结论须谨慎解读。下表所列为基于不同假设作出的几点主要估计结论,其余假设与结论均在书中详述。

 

 

每年早逝案例

健康损害对国内生产总值的比例

案例 / 假设

   

急性死亡率 (颗粒物和二氧化硫)

   

1

低端假设 (量效反应与估值)

62,000

0.65%

2

基准案例假设 (量效反应与估值)

93,700

1.84%

3

高端假设 (量效反应与估值)

125,000

3.81%

慢性死亡率 (仅颗粒物)

   

4

基准案例假设(估值)

561,000

4.36%

案例2为《净化空气》一书中的主要基准案例。案例4中的流行病学假设最接近于世界银行-中国国家环保总局的研究方法,尽管其研究目标、方法和能力差异巨大。[1]

引用已发表的针对中国人群的流行病学研究结论,书中的前三个案例都只针对急性死亡率。第四个案例包括了颗粒物引发的慢性死亡率,但由于中国还没有开展过类似的“世代研究”(世代研究耗时几十年、成本非常高),该案例所引述的流行病学结论是基于对美国人群的研究得出的。

所有从事此类中国研究的学者都会面临这种权衡:一方面,有必要将世代研究得出的长期污染对死亡率的影响引入研究;另一方面,引用来自国情完全不同的国家的流行病学研究结论到针对中国人群的研究也确实是有问题的。如上所示,一个小小的选择——是否假设美国的死亡率世代研究适用于中国国情——就会极大地影响最后的总结论。其他许多类型的假设——包括那些隐藏于国内生产总值百分比公式的经济假设——都会影响损害总量的计算。随着中国在相关领域的研究逐渐增多,我们相信在一定假设范围内报告多个结论是十分有必要的,而不应毫无理由地任意认可一个估值。事实上,这样可以帮助我们决定我们应该优先对这些不确定性中的哪一些开展研究工作。

《净化空气》一书对政策最直接的影响源自于其对同样假设条件下不同政策效果的比较。在这种情况下,不精确的参数对不同政策的效果产生的影响微乎其微,而不是重复叠加。这样的比较分析法也从仅仅对污染损害程度进行划分,扩展到评估到底哪些污染防治策略能达到最佳效果。基于这些原因,尽管研究参数具有不确定性,但它们还是能为中国政府当前审议甄别应对空气污染和二氧化碳排放最佳政策提供有价值的信息。

脚注:

[1]  世界银行-中国国家环保总局的模型广泛涵盖了环境保护的各方面,同时也改进了污染损害的评估方法——在政策背景下,这代表了潜在的收益和可以避免的损害。我们的研究仅限于影响空气质量和气候的污染排放,但为了在一个完整的经济层面的成本收益框架下对可行的污染防治手段进行全面的评估,我们的研究不仅对污染治理所带来的收益进行评估,同时也对污染治理所产生的成本——包括直接的和间接的(“一般均衡”)成本——进行评估。

本书更多详情

相关文献

Haikun Wang, Xiaojing He, Xinyu Liang, Ernani F. Choma, Yifan Liu, Li Shan, Haotian Zheng, Shaojun Zhang, Chris P. Nielsen, Shuxiao Wang, Ye Wu, and John S. Evans. 2020. “Health benefits of on-road transportation pollution control programs in China.” Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Sept 2020, 201921271. Publisher's VersionAbstract
China started to implement comprehensive measures to mitigate traffic pollution at the end of 1990s, but the comprehensive effects, especially on ambient air quality and public health, have not yet been systematically evaluated. In this study, we analyze the effects of vehicle emission control measures on ambient air pollution and associated deaths attributable to long-term exposures of fine particulate matter (PM2.5) and O3 based on an integrated research framework that combines scenario analysis, air quality modeling, and population health risk assessment. We find that the total impact of these control measures was substantial. Vehicular emissions during 1998–2015 would have been 2–3 times as large as they actually were, had those measures not been implemented. The national population-weighted annual average concentrations of PM2.5 and O3 in 2015 would have been higher by 11.7 μg/m3 and 8.3 parts per billion, respectively, and the number of deaths attributable to 2015 air pollution would have been higher by 510 thousand (95% confidence interval: 360 thousand to 730 thousand) without these controls. Our analysis shows a concentration of mortality impacts in densely populated urban areas, motivating local policymakers to design stringent vehicle emission control policies. The results imply that vehicle emission control will require policy designs that are more multifaceted than traditional controls, primarily represented by the strict emission standards, with careful consideration of the challenges in coordinated mitigation of both PM2.5 and O3 in different regions, to sustain improvement in air quality and public health given continuing swift growth in China’s vehicle population.
Yu Zhao, Michael B. McElroy, Jia Xing, Lei Duan, Chris P Nielsen, Yu Lei, and Jiming Hao. 2011. “Multiple effects and uncertainties of emission control policies in China: Public health, soil acidification, and global temperature.” Science of the Total Environment , 409, 24, Pp. 5177-5187. Publisher's VersionAbstract
Policies to control emissions of criteria pollutants in China may have conflicting impacts on public health, soil acidification, and climate. Two scenarios for 2020, a base case without anticipated control measures and a more realistic case including such controls, are evaluated to quantify the effects of the policies on emissions and resulting environmental outcomes. Large benefits to public health can be expected from the controls, attributed mainly to reduced emissions of primary PM and gaseous PM precursors, and thus lower ambient concentrations of PM2.5. Approximately 4% of all-cause mortality in the country can be avoided (95% confidence interval: 1–7%), particularly in eastern and north-central China, regions with large population densities and high levels of PM2.5. Surface ozone levels, however, are estimated to increase in parts of those regions, despite NOX reductions. This implies VOC-limited conditions. Even with significant reduction of SO2 and NOX emissions, the controls will not significantly mitigate risks of soil acidification, judged by the exceedance levels of critical load (CL). This is due to the decrease in primary PM emissions, with the consequent reduction in deposition of alkaline base cations. Compared to 2005, even larger CL exceedances are found for both scenarios in 2020, implying that PM control may negate any recovery from soil acidification due to SO2 reductions. Noting large uncertainties, current polices to control emissions of criteria pollutants in China will not reduce climate warming, since controlling SO2 emissions also reduces reflective secondary aerosols. Black carbon emission is an important source of uncertainty concerning the effects of Chinese control policies on global temperature change. Given these conflicts, greater consideration should be paid to reconciling varied environmental objectives, and emission control strategies should target not only criteria pollutants but also species such as VOCs and CO2.
更多文献

相关新闻

liu zhenya headshot

中国国家电网公司前董事长刘振亚就全球能源互联网在哈佛大学发表公开演讲

April 17, 2018

2018年4月17日,中国国家电网公司(SGCC)前董事长、现全球能源互联网发展合作组织(GEIDCO)主席刘振亚先生在哈佛大学法学院发表题为“能源创新之道:从特高压电网到全球能源互联网”的公开演讲。演讲探讨了建立全球智能电网的需求与潜力,通过全球能源互联网,用可再生资源生产的能源能够以更低的成本进入千家万户。本次活动由哈佛大学中国能源、经济与环境项目,哈佛法学院东亚法律研究项目,哈佛John A. Paulson工程与应用科学学院,以及哈佛环球学院联合举办。点击此处阅读有关报道。

...
Read more about 中国国家电网公司前董事长刘振亚就全球能源互联网在哈佛大学发表公开演讲
MEP meeting

同解振华特别代表和李干杰部长进行高层次会晤

August 30, 2017

2017年8月4日,中国气候变化事务特别代表解振华主任在其北京的办公室举行了研究和政策咨询会,会晤哈佛大学中国项目的Mike McElroy和Steve Wofsy教授、项目执行总监Chris Nielsen、前哈佛大学中国项目学者张红军博士(霍兰德奈特律师事务所),以及鲁玺教授(清华大学)。议题包括:中美处理气候问题的现状以及地区政府在气候问题治理中日益重要的作用;中国不同地区碳排放控制能力的差异;碳市场与碳税收政策各自的优势和混合碳定价政策的前景;以及尝试用地球工程来解决气候问题所带来的高风险。... Read more about 同解振华特别代表和李干杰部长进行高层次会晤

clearing_the_air_book_cover_2

Clearing the Air

July 19, 2007

Check the reviews of Clearing the Air, a Harvard China Project book on the health damages of air pollution, and comprehensive costs and benefits of taxes to control pollutants and CO2. Reporting an interdisciplinary study by Harvard University and Tsinghua University engineers, economists, and health scientists, the book is edited by Mun Ho and Chris Nielsen:

 

  • ...
Read more about Clearing the Air
更多新闻

Book 1: Clearing the Air

A multi-component assessment by a Harvard and Tsinghua collaborative team integrates studies to estimate and compare the national health damages of ambient air pollution in China by sector. It uses these estimates to assess the effects of green tax policies on emissions of air pollutants and greenhouse gases, human health, and the economy. The assessment and its results and policy conclusions are presented in a comprehensive volume, Clearing the Air: The Health and Economic Damages of Air Pollution in China (Ho and Nielsen 2007, MIT Press).

clearing_the_air_book_cover

For more info about this book, click "Show More" below. Click "More Publications" further down for a fuller list of publications supported by the Harvard-China Project in the general research area of the book. 

Show More

The research initiative of this book was led by Mun S. HO and Chris P. NIELSEN of the Harvard-China Project, advised by Dale W. JORGENSON (Harvard Department of Economics). The Tsinghua University component was led by HAO Jiming (School of Environment). Additional Harvard faculty playing key roles were Jonathan I. LEVY and James K. HAMMITT of the Harvard (now T.H. Chan) School of Public Health.

The lead policy conclusion below is followed by descriptions of three major research components, and then discussion of estimates of total damages from China's air pollution (such as premature mortalities and percent of GDP).

Lead Policy Conclusion

Clearing the Air’s integrated modeling analyses foremost show that:

  • Green tax policies in China could not only reduce health damages of air pollution and reduce carbon emissions but, depending on the use of the revenues, sustain or even increase China’s economic growth. In any case, the costs of such policies are modest compared to the benefits.

This encouraging result indicates that tax-based policy approaches should be prominently on the table for consideration and further evaluation if China seeks a comprehensive national strategy for controlling both domestic air pollution and carbon emissions. This and many other policy conclusions are discussed further in the book.

From the Economy to Emissions, and Policy

In the largest continuous activity of the China Project, JORGENSON, HO, and colleagues have developed, updated, and refined a 34-sector dynamic model used to evaluate the growth, energy use, and emissions trajectory of China’s economy. For more information on the model see the research link on modeling China's economy

In Clearing the Air, this economic model incorporates results of the environment and health components described in the next two sections to estimate the health and economic damages of ambient air pollutants by detailed industries (Ho and Jorgenson 2007a). These estimates are then used to analyze the effects of market-based environmental policies on economic growth, production structure, and energy use on the one hand, and the effects on pollutant emissions and health damages on the other (Ho and Jorgenson 2007b). These policies are in the form of so-called “green” (or “Pigouvian”) taxes, which are taxes on fuels or outputs scaled to the amount of damages they cause. The national framework allows the team to assess the effects of such policies not just on economic activities directly affected by policies, but also indirect reverberations throughout the economy as it responds to changes in prices. See the last sections below for a summary of policy implications of the integrated modeling analyses.

From Emissions to Exposures

Two teams modeled air dispersion and human exposure to particulate matter and sulfur dioxide from burning fossil fuels, using the "intake fraction" approach developed for data-limited contexts common in less-developed countries (Levy and Greco 2007). One was led by Jonathan LEVY and ZHOU Ying (Harvard School of Public Health) and used an atmospheric "puff" model to estimate intake fractions of primary and secondary pollutants from the electric power sector (Zhou et al. 2007).

A major second effort was led by HAO Jiming, LIU Bingjiang, and WANG Shuxiao of Tsinghua University (of the then-Department of Environmental Science and Engineering). They deployed teams to five cities to collect data on four major emitting sectors: chemicals, iron and steel, cement, and transportation. LIU developed a national database of plants for a fifth critical sector: electric power.

To analyze the data, Tsinghua scholars served research residencies at the Harvard-China Project, including post-doctoral fellowships held by WANG (now professor at Tsinghua University School of Environment) and LIU (now Director-General, Department of Air Pollution Control, Ministry of Environmental Protection). They used the data to model air dispersion and exposures to emissions from hundreds of sources in the five sectors (Wang et al. 2007Liu and Hao 2007). Regression analyses of the resulting intake fractions (based on the approach of Levy et al. 2002) produce sector intake fractions, which are incorporated into the economic model to estimate health damages.

Valuing Health Impacts

James K. HAMMITT and ZHOU Ying (Harvard School of Public Health) conducted a contingent valuation study to estimate the economic value of preventing adverse health effects in China (Zhou and Hammitt 2007). The CV surveys were conducted in urban and rural areas of Beijing and Anhui province, facilitated by former Project co-chair XU Xiping (then HSPH), and local institutes. Combined with population exposures estimated by intake fractions and dose-response relationships from literature, these valuations (and those of Wang and Mullahy 2006, an earlier study initiated and sponsored by the Harvard-China Project) are used to monetize health damages of air pollution in the economic model.

National Damage Estimates: Number of Premature Deaths and Percent of GDP

The lead conclusion above reflects the main policy-related objective of Clearing the Air, in parallel to its research aims of advancing methods and published scholarship to build and encourage future research. Indeed the book emphasizes the developmental state of research capacities and inherent uncertainties behind all national environmental assessments in China. These include our own and related efforts like the damage modeling framework developed around the same time by the World Bank and China's State Environmental Protection Administration (SEPA, now the Ministry of Environmental Protection).

Estimates of aggregate national environmental damages, in health or economic terms, draw attention from popular media. They should best be qualified with strong caveats about their inherent imprecision and limits for policy inference. National air pollution damage estimates are among the results of Clearing the Air, though the book stresses caution in their interpretation. Several of our main estimates, reflecting different assumptions, are below. Other assumptions and estimates are described in the book.

 

 

Annual cases of premature mortality

Health damage as a percentage of GDP

Cases / Assumptions

   

Acute mortality only (particles and sulfur dioxide)

   

1

Low-end assumptions (dose-response and valuation)

62,000

0.65%

2

Base case assumptions (dose-response and valuation)

93,700

1.84%

3

High-end assumptions (dose-response and valuation)

125,000

3.81%

Chronic mortality only (particles only)

   

4

Base case assumption (valuation)

561,000

4.36%

Case 2 is treated as the primary base case in Clearing the Air. The epidemiological assumptions of Case 4 are closest to those of the World Bank-SEPA approach, though its objectives, methods, and capabilities differ substantially.[1]

The first three cases consider acute mortality only, applying published epidemiological results from studies on Chinese populations. The fourth case includes chronic mortality for particles, but applies epidemiological results from studies on U.S. populations because no analogous “cohort" studies have been conducted in China (as they take decades and are very costly).

To emphasize one of many tradeoffs researchers face in all such studies in China, it is highly advisable to include long-term pollution effects on mortality, estimated by cohort studies, while it is also problematic to try to transfer epidemiological results across dramatically different national conditions. As shown above, a single choice — here, whether to assume U.S. cohort mortality research applies to Chinese conditions — can strongly affect the totals. Many other types of assumptions also affect such aggregate damages, including ones related to the economy imbedded in the percent-of-GDP formulations. As China builds up its body of research in these areas, we believe it is necessary to report at least several estimates under a range of assumptions rather than spotlight any point estimate without qualification. Indeed doing so is essential to help identify priorities for new research to narrow these very uncertainties.

The more immediately relevant implications for policy of Clearing the Air result from its comparisons of outcomes under different policies, because they are evaluated using the same assumptions. In this case the influence of imprecisely known parameters is at the margin, rather than added repeatedly into a total. Such conclusions therefore will be more robust to the uncertainties than attempted point estimates of total damages to the public health or economy of an entire nation. These comparative analyses also move beyond simply scaling the damages to evaluating which response strategies might perform best. For these reasons, even with the parameter uncertainties, they can help inform China's deliberations now on optimal policy responses to its air pollution and carbon dioxide emissions.

Footnotes:

[1] The World Bank-SEPA initiative covered environment broadly and improved estimation of pollution damages, which in a policy context represent prospective benefits, damages that could be avoided. Our research is limited to emissions affecting air quality and climate, but it evaluates not just benefits but also costs — both direct and indirect ("general equilibrium") ones — in order to assess pollution control options in a complete, economy-wide benefit-cost framework.

Related Publications

More Publications

Related News

More